SAXON – “BACK ON THE STREETS” APPLE SHAPED PICTURE DISC FROM 1985!


SAXON – Back On The Streets, (die-cut), shaped picture disc FIND!  This past week, I entered yet another antique mall and I stumbled upon this unreal great Saxon picture disc! I was in Metal glee, upon my eyes becoming affixed, to this piece of Saxon vinyl memorabilia. The price I paid for this Saxon find was $10, (U.S.), Metal money worth spending. I don’t know the actual value of this picture disc on the open Metal market, yet I have a funny feeling it is worth more than the $10 I spent on it. Looking around the world wide web, I did not find one dealer/site that has this Saxon picture disc for sale. (Now, can I honestly say it is not available anywhere on the internet? Of course not… I just have not seen one just yet). I will have to think, with Metal certainty, that this Saxon picture disc must be scarce. Oh, the feeling of making a Metal score like this! Why I feel so psyched is that this is a picture disc from 1985, it’s not as if it’s a current/newly released picture disc. Plus, the sheer fact that this is a Heavy Metal band that I really do like makes it only better.

SAXON – Back On The Streets – Shaped Picture Disc Specs:

Side A: Back On The Streets

Side B: Live Fast Die Young

* To the best of my Metal research, Live Fast Die Young has never appeared on any Saxon studio album. Maybe it has appeared on a Saxon bootleg? Anyone with further info on the song Live Fast Die Young is welcomed to comment. If this is to be the only Saxon recording that Live Fast Die Young is found on, man, that makes this picture disc all the more Metal important.

* This is a U.K. import, the picture disc code, (found at the bottom of Side B), is: RP 6103.

* Directly below the picture disc code is a small logo witch reads: Parlophone.

* Other text found at the bottom of Side B, reads: SAXONGS CARLIN MUSIC CORP., (and), 1985 Original Sound Recordings Made By EMI Records LTD., (and), 1985 EMI Records LTD.

The single Back On The Streets is from the Saxon album Innocence Is No Excuse, (released in 1985).

Saxon, as they appeared on the 1985 album Innocence Is No Excuse:

Biff Byford – lead vocals

Paul Quinn – guitarist

Graham Oliver – guitarist

Steve Dawson – bass guitarist

Nigel Glockler – drums

This super fine picture disc is shaped like an apple, with the stem actually protruding out at the top! Here is what this Back On The Streets – shaped picture disc looks like:

Side A:

Side B:

I thank my wife for taking the pics for Metal Odyssey… she is quite a Metal asset for me in more ways than I can count, I honestly don’t know what I would do without her… that is a Metal fact!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.